How To Protect Yourself Against Drivers Without Insurance in Boston

Address*

Scene of a car accident involving a driver without insurance

“How do I protect myself against drivers without insurance?” is one of the most common questions we hear. And you guessed it, Jimmy knows! If you’ve been in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver, things can get complicated quickly, especially if you get injured. At Jim Glaser Law, our team of experienced car accident attorneys is always ready to help. Let us handle your claim and fight for the compensation you seek so that you can focus on healing.

Make Sure You Have Uninsured Motorist Coverage

Insurance policy showing uninsured motorist coverageIn Boston, uninsured motorist insurance coverage is not only the best way to protect yourself if you’re in an accident with a driver without insurance; it’s also legally required. In fact, Massachusetts requires its drivers to have $20,000 in uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage per driver.

When both parties involved in a car accident have insurance, the at-fault driver’s insurance company is responsible for paying damages. But when the other driver doesn’t have insurance, things aren’t as straightforward, and getting compensation can be an enormous challenge. On the other hand, if you have uninsured motorist coverage, you file your claim directly with your own insurance company to receive compensation. Unfortunately, that can also be more complicated than it sounds.

The reality is even your own insurance company doesn’t always have your best interest at heart. They are looking out for their bottom line, not for you. And getting the total compensation you deserve can quickly become another uphill battle. That’s when you need a car accident lawyer who is entirely on your side fighting for you. If you believe your insurance owes you more after an accident, get a free case review today, and we’ll go after the compensation you need to move on with life.

Report the Accident On Time

Uninsured motorist insurance companies often have a time limit for you to file a report. Typically, this time limit is within 30 days of the accident. Be sure to check your policy details to ensure you submit your report on time, and when in doubt, ask for help. Jimmy knows how to help make sure you file on time.

Always Get the Other Driver’s Full Insurance Info

Two drivers exchanging insurance information at an accident sceneThe majority of drivers in Boston have insurance, as it’s a legal requirement in Massachusetts. Even still, there is a small percentage of drivers who don’t. If you’re able after an accident, make sure you get as much information as you can about the other driver’s insurance before leaving the scene. The sooner you know whether or not they are adequately insured, the sooner you can file your claim.

Treat Your Claim Like Any Other Insurance Claim

Filing a claim for uninsured motorist coverage works the same way as filing a claim with an insured driver’s liability insurance. There will be an investigation into your claim analyzing your medical records, injuries, and the treatments you have received. Your insurer may also collect information and testimony from witnesses and the police.

Find an Experienced Car Accident Lawyer

One major warning about working with your own insurance company: You can’t sue your insurer if you’re unhappy with the compensation they offer. While you can go into a binding arbitration process, the informal nature of it all gives you less room for appeal. Jimmy knows that having an experienced insurance lawyer on your side will put you in a better position to get the compensation you seek. Get your free case review from Jim Glaser Law by contacting us online or giving us a call at 617-906-8775 today.